In order to provide you with services and offers tailored to your interests, Barnes
uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site , you accept their use. Read more

When is the tax on capital gains paid ?

Reselling a property typically involves a capital gain, a non-taxable profit in certain situations, such as the sale of your principal residence, property at a price less than or equal to € 15,000 or a second home more than Of thirty years. Finally, on the sale of a dwelling other than the Principal Residence subject to the following conditions:

Possible during a single assignment during its lifetime

You have not been the owner of your Main Residence, either directly or by intermediary, during the 4 years prior to the transfer

You reimburse the sale price, within 24 months of the transfer, for the acquisition or construction of an affected dwelling, upon its completion or its acquisition if it is later, to your Main Residence. If the reimbursement is partial, the exemption of surplus value is proportionate to the fraction of the transfer price that is actually replenished.

Real estate sold that does not correspond to these situations benefit in some cases from deductions on their surplus value. Certain fees may be deducted from the sale price (eg agency commission or diagnostic fees).

The amount of the net capital gain is subject to a tax of 19% and social security levies of 15.5%. Pay attention to the surtax applicable to the tax: it goes from 2 to 6% in excess of 50 000 € of profit of sale.

However, the number of years of possession of the property makes it possible to add an additional deduction to the surplus value. It will be fully taxed if you own the property for less than 5 years. On the other hand, the greater the number of years of possession, the more you can reduce the taxable amount of your capital gain: 6% for each year from 6 to 21 years, then 4% for the 22nd year for tax purposes. For social contributions, 1.65% is deducted for each year from 6 to 21 years, 1.60% for the 22nd year and 9% for the following years. For example, for a property owned for 16 years, you can subtract from your net capital gain a reduction of 66% for tax and 18.15% for social security contributions.

Afin de vous proposer des services et offres adaptés à vos centres d'intérêts, Barnes utilise des cookies. En continuant de naviguer sur le site, vous déclarez accepter leur utilisation. En savoir plus

Quand paye t-on l’impôt sur la plus values ?

Revendre un bien immobilier implique généralement une plus- value, un bénéfice non imposable dans certaines situations, comme la vente de votre résidence principale, d’un bien à un prix inférieur ou égal à 15 000 € ou d’une résidence secondaire détenue depuis plus de trente ans. Enfin, lors de la vente d’un logement autre que la Résidence Principale sous réserve des conditions suivantes :

  • possible lors d’une seule cession au cours de sa vie

  • vous n’avez pas été propriétaire de votre Résidence Principale, directement ou par personne interposée, au cours des 4 années précédant la cession

  • vous procédez au remploi du prix de cession, dans un délai de 24 mois à compter de la cession, pour l’acquisition ou la construction d’un logement affecté, dès son achèvement ou son acquisition si elle est postérieure, à votre Résidence Principale. Si le remploi est partiel, l’exonération de plus-value est proportionnée à la fraction du prix de cession qui est effectivement remployée.

Les biens immobiliers vendus ne correspondant pas à ces situations bénéficient dans certains cas d’abattements sur leur plus-value. Certains frais peuvent être déduits du prix de vente (par exemple les frais de commission d’agence ou les frais de diagnostics).

Le montant de la plus-value nette est soumis à un impôt qui s’élève à 19 % et à des prélèvements sociaux de 15,5 %. Attention à la surtaxe applicable à l’impôt : elle va de 2 à 6 % au delà de 50 000 € de bénéfice de vente.

Cependant, le nombre d’années de possession du bien permet d’ajouter un abattement supplémentaire à la plus-value. Elle sera entièrement taxée si vous possédez le bien depuis moins de 5 ans. Par contre, plus le nombre d’années de possession augmente, plus vous pourrez diminuer le montant imposable de votre plus-value : de 6 % pour chaque année de 6 à 21 ans, puis de 4 % la 22ème année pour l’impôt. Pour les prélèvements sociaux, on déduit 1,65 % pour chaque année de 6 à 21 ans, 1,60 % pour la 22ème année et 9 % les années suivantes. Par exemple, pour un bien possédé pendant 16 ans, vous pourrez soustraire à votre plus-value nette un abattement de 66 % au titre de l’impôt et de 18,15 % au titre des prélèvements sociaux.